The Diary of Service Company’s Life

Maybe, some people say that it is too hard to work in Service Company. With big and harsh risk in the job field in some of the most extreme environments, to provide oil companies with expert advice on which to base multi-billion dollar production decisions. Some others say that you must leave your family (your wife, your children, and others) in a long time because you must stay in the field to do your work, so they are choose to resign from this company in only for the short term.

But, sometimes you maybe read or hear that some people say that they have unforgettable experiences in the field, when they must work in the jungle and sleep with wild animal, when they must move to one country to other country to finish all of the demands of oil company, and the extremly sometimes they must works in war area. I think, maybe you can hear many other dangerous adventures which increase your adrenaline.

In several days ago, I read one of the service company’s magazine which told about their engineer’s lifes and their adventures when they work in the area. The magazine’s name is “Schlumberger Life”.  Now, I will share about the story and try to open your paradigm to see about service company’s life. Please enjoy it.

***diary

“Hi, I’m Eric Ayache. I’ve worked for Schlumberger for the past 13 years. The job has taken me to some pretty amazing places – many that are really extreme and tough to work in but that have allowed me to do things that I would never have been able to do in an ordinary job. My life with Schlumberger has been one continual experience . . . with the job and and my personal life just being different aspects of the same unfolding story. Here’s a snapshot of some of my adventures.”

AFRICA: MY FAVORITE CONTINENT ON EARTH
I started my Scmonkeyhlumberger life about thirteen years ago, when I joined Wireline. My first four years were spent in West and Southern Africa, working in remote areas of Congo, Angola, Gabon and South Africa. Having the opportunity to discover these countries, and many more while on days off, was an incredible experience. Often it was difficult to distinguish work from days off, watching from the deck of a supply boat humpback whales jump out of the water in pairs during the mating season, a pack of killer whales hunting down dolphins, or a huge, lone hammerhead shark circling the rig. I will never forget when I was sent to Gabon as second engineer on a remote well deep in the jungle. Discovering that I loved animals, the pilot of the four seater plane that took me from Congo to Gabon plunged down to fly just 100 meters above ground level, over surprised elephants and buffaloes in the savanna! This was to be one of many highlights of my time in Africa. After an additional six-hour ride in a dugout canoe on a river winding its way through the jungle, I finally reached the wellsite. Seeing the local hunters bursting out of the jungle carrying spears and freshly killed antelopes or boars to sell to the rig camp, while I was struggling on a hellish three-day logging job in pouring rain and ankle deep mud, was a great experience! And it was on that job I met a young Wireline pre-school trainee, Catherine Beneton, who has since become my wife. Thank you Schlumberger!

After two years of remote projects and exploration jobs in Angola, I started to move from country to country in the region, wherever exploration jobs or other needs arose. I could not believe my luck. While based in Cape Town, I had the opportunity to spend a weekend hunting with the pygmies in Cameroon, climb Pico Bioko in Malabo, go horse riding in the vineyards of Stellenbosch, and go cage diving with the great white sharks. Believe it or not, during these first three or four years, I honestly thought I should pay to do this job! Not only was the work exciting and challenging, I was constantly travelling around living a life of adventure; and on top of that, I was being paid.After almost four years on what has since become my favorite continent on earth, I had the desire to discover and work in other parts of the world, particularly the remote areas of the Middle Eastern deserts. Hence my transfer to Abu Dhabi, where I spent two months as a land engineer. There, while on week-long exploration loggings in the beautiful Bu Hasa field, I learned everything there is to learn about desert driving. But the infamous Abu Dhabi traffic jams finally took their toll, so I was delighted to be assigned to Masila in Yemen.

monkey

AH, YEMEN!
The land of the Queen of Sheba,  the ‘Arabia Felix’ of the Romans. The breathtaking and unique scenery in the Hadhramout; the hospitality of the bedus; the architecture of Shibam, Tarim; the Old Sana’a . . . driving to wellsites across the moon-like landscapes characteristic of the high plateaus of the Hadhramaut, I felt privileged and happy. During my two years in Yemen, I was fortunate to be able to get to know my surroundings and my neighbors quite well. I even spent five amazing weeks traversing the country from Sana’a to Mukalla, via Marib and the old sabean ruins of Shabwa – a fantastic journey through time, following the 4,000 year old incense trade route. From the sea port of Mukalla, I crossed over to Socotra, a fabulous ‘lost world’ of unique landscapes, endemic bird and plant species (like the amazing dragon blood tree), and a very special people born from a mixture of Arab, Indian and African traders who speak a unique language (Socotri). This is a place definitely worth a visit while it remains unspoiled. From Yemen, it was an easy jump to cross the Bab El Mendab to visit other extraordinary countries like Uganda and Ethiopia. Approaching on foot the mountain gorillas in the Virunga range; kayaking and rafting the Nile white water rapids below Victoria Lake; paddling around Lake Albert in search of the elusive dinosaur-like shoebill stork, and finding it; trekking in the Bale and Siemen Mountains of Ethiopia looking for the Abyssinian wolf, mountain nyala and gelada baboon – all endemic, rare species; bird watching along the little known Rift Valley Lakes of remote southern Ethiopia . . .

SVALBARD CALLING

Despite all these adventures, and a very challenging job as fiel service manager at the Masila base, my thoughts turned more and more to Svalbard. I had been there three years earlier to participate in a dog sledging expedition through the glaciers and sea ice. And now the Arctic was calling me, demanding that I spend a year there, as a dog sledging guide! It was an MBA of sorts – a Master’s in the Blizzards of the Arctic! The time spent there was another highlight of my life. But after ten months, I was ready to move on again.

monkey

THE SULTANATE OF OMAN –ANOTHER FANTASTIC COUNTRY
This assignment, once again, was a combination of very hard work and great opport

unities to discover a country from the inside. Trekking along the ‘Omani Grand Canyon’ in the Jebel Al Akhdar; diving among schools of thousands of swirling fishes; sea kayaking through deep fjords at sunrise, surrounded by dolphins; wandering through long abandoned Omani villages; tracking the fabled white Arabian oryx in the Jiddat Al Harasis with an old Bedu Harasi. On days off, I was able to visit surrounding countries I had not yet been to: beautiful and varied Iran, Tanzania, and the UAE. Flying a small Cessna low over the red sand dunes of the Sharjah desert and over flocks of pink flamingoes in flight, beautifully highlighted against the vivid blue of the Umm Al Quwain lagoons, was a dream come true!

THE BIGGEST ADVENTURE OF ALL
Our latest and most recent adventure may very well be the most challenging and enjoyable of all: the arrival of our first baby, little Inès Ayache! And, for the first time in our Schlumberger career, we are being transferred to our home country. To Paris, where the world of a product center awaits me, while Catherine completes her maternity leave before coming back to Schlumberger in a new position. This will give me time to discover my daughter, Paris and its surroundings, as well as the new Schlumberger Engineering, Manufacturing and Sustaining organization that I am now part of. Until we are ready to

go back overseas to share new adventures – this time the three of us – and take up challenging new professional positions . . .

***

Ok…Comes back to me! How do you feel now? are that any differences before and after read my article which picked up at www.slb.com? I wants all of you know there are many differents feel that people who ever take their career in service oil company with the other one who never feel how interesting work in there. If you like an adventure, challange work, a high dicipline, I think it doesn’t wrong when you choose the service company as your choice. You will feel different, no pain no gain…

One thought on “The Diary of Service Company’s Life

Leave a Reply

